Pistol’s Impulso

In the massive gap between the last blog post and this one, apart obviously from not writing anything, I’ve started working at the bike shop on Saturdays. Yesterday, I managed to sell Pistol a Bianchi Impulso (for a song, naturally). So he’s gone from this:

Pistol increasing the carrying load of the bike.

To this:

That looks better, doesn’t it?

Clearly now is the time to destroy his new confidence so I took him for a ride in the Perth Alps. Kazuko came along as well to help wear him out. Pistol attacked the first hill we came to. He was easily the fastest to the top, which I believe helped instil a false sense of confidence for the rest of the ride, especially as the new bike feels much better than my brother’s old Giant, which he had been riding around on. Vacansoleil rode Impulsos in the Paris-Roubaix, you know. After softening him up, I found a nice, steep climb to take Pistol up and here’s how he looked near the top:

You could probably hear him puffing from wherever you were.

And here he is at the top.

We then took a relaxing ride through the scenic John Forrest park.

Here’s the park.

Here’s Kazuko in the park.

The view of Perth.

Pistol half-wheeling Kazuko. Nice-looking bike, the Impulso. Kaz’s Infinito isn’t so bad, either.

 

Kazuko showing Pistol a clean pair of heels up this climb.

He’s not really exhausted. That actually how he looks all the time.

We stopped to look at some water.

Personally, I think CB could have done a lot better than WR but there you go – love is blind.

I have to give it to Pistol – he’s always up for a challenge. I started racing up each hill, then waiting until I could hear Pistol’s puffing behind me. When he was nearly level with me, I’d take off again. Is this cruel? He thought he had me on a short climb near the end when I hadn’t expected an attack and he raced past me at quite a pace. Luckily that effort wore him out so he still couldn’t stay ahead to the top. However, no matter how cruel I am to him, he’s never short on enthusiasm. He has bet me a ham and cheese croissant that he can ride 500km this week. He may just do it – he’s very proud of his new bike.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Bruce Rollerson

blogorollo.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pistol’s Impulso

  1. James says:

    It may have been a while since your last post, but you are no less entertaining. I don’t know Pistol, and so I shan’t jump on the ‘bash pistol’ band wagon. What I will say is that he has a beautiful new bike which will one day charge past you at overwhelming speed and this time you won’t be able to catch up! Yes my friend, if there is one thing we have learnt this week it’s that biking karma exists, and it has just paid back in full!!

    Mind you, you’re only crime is taking the mickey so perhaps I am being harsh. Oh hell, the guy that has the new bike must be put in his place or else he will think he can do anything on his new carbon frame and fancy deep section rims…..take him out again tomorrow and do it all over again!

    No offense Pistol. I don’t doubt that you’re a bang up chap!

  2. Rollo says:

    Obviously my taunting of Pistol is all a form of reverse psychology that he reacts well to. I just recount it here because I also find it most amusing. I’m sure he does, too. He’s also fairly fit so it’s probably not all that long until he gets to lord it up over me and I find I have to go and take up some other sport like lawn bowls or something. It rained yesterday and he couldn’t bear to get his new baby dirty so his 500km in a week challenge is already behind. He tells me he rode to work today, though.

  3. chong says:

    Mark my words: Pistol will rise against us. Only if he shaves those legs though. It seems from that picture above that in fact Kazuko is half-wheeling Pistol and not the other way round. Was Kazuko giving back as good as she got?

    • Rollo says:

      He did get enthusiastic and shave his legs once. You’re right – I think Kazuko is pushing the pace on him there. She was definitely smashing Pistol on the decents with her new 11-tooth cassette.

Leave a Reply

