Maylands – San Remo

Autumn is here so it’s not only time to start thinking about the spring classics but because it’s not baking hot in the middle of the day any more, it’s possible to plan some longer rides.

Last Saturday, my friends Cam and Byron rode the world-famous Maylands-San Remo ride. I couldn’t make it due to a scheduled hangover. In fact, they were also at Chong’s birthday river cruise last Saturday evening but used something called moderation.

Luckily I had the day off today and I’m always up for a ride with a novelty name so I headed down the freeway bike path to San Remo (just north of Mandurah).

Maylands train station. Where it all begins.

Maylands train station. Where it all begins.

P1020946

The bike path from Maylands to Perth. Note the sensible hi-viz gear.

P1020948

Suckers!

P1020951

After being forced to call one dangerously overtaking commuter a dickhead, I finally had the path to myself.

P1020952

All to myself.

P1020957

There is absolutely nothing in San Remo to even hint that it’s called San Remo. Very disappointing. So here’s a picture of the sea at San Remo.

Yes, I got lost but look - there really is a San Remo.

Yes, I got lost but look – there really is a San Remo.

Eat too many of these and I'll end up quite podgy-oh.

Eat too many of these and I’ll end up quite podgy-oh.

The full ride. Click to see it on Strava if you're into that sort of thing.

The full ride. Click to see it on Strava if you’re into that sort of thing.

About Rollo

blogorollo.wordpress.com

Posted on March 13, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Well done Bruce, funny story, next time use moderation and come with us !

    • Cheers Cam! Chong’s not 30 next year so I should be able to experiment with sobriety on the eve of next year’s ride. And now I’m on the look out for more rides that sound like famous rides.

  2. I did check out Strava as I am into that sirt of thing, and I have to say, impressive ride. Good average speed over the 155 km. You can and should be chuffed with that one. At your age, probably not many more of those rides left in you.

    • I’m not so much knocking on death’s door as smashing it down with an axe like Jack Nicholson in The Shining. But I have the comfort of knowing that when I do have my heart attack, at least people will be able to say I died doing what I loved. And good to see your snow has melted enough for you to do a little commute on the fixie. It’ll be proper cycling season in no time at all.

  3. My delay in commenting on this post has nothing to do with shame or guilt. Although yes, moderation may have allowed us to both get out and do our own #MSR, except without the team buses. It looks like a good day out in the saddle, so I’ll be keen to try that one day. But with me being me, I’ll probably try to go along Mills Rd East and Canning Mills Rd then down via Serpentine and Lakes Rd for a longer day in the saddle. Which probably won’t happen for like, ever.

    I note the cool $50 note. Just how much was that pastry? Incidentally I had been considering just what denominations of cash are appropriate for which kind of ride. Certainly there is the consideration of a taxi ride home if there’s an irreparable equipment failure, but usually a card can sort that out. That then leaves cafes and shops. Now a $50 note is handy if you’re riding with me because chances are I’ll make you pay for my stuff. But on a solo ride? It is really a sign of the times in Perth when carrying around a $50 is the sensible choice, even on a solo ride.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers

