A couple of onigiri will easily fit in your back pocket and although I haven’t had a chance to go for a proper good, long ride here yet, I’ll almost certainly take a couple along with me when I do. Luckily, Kazuko was just about to eat one, so I’ve got her to provide a demonstration. The ones we’ve been eating lately come from Kazuko’s parents’ convenience store (we get all the stuff that’s near the use-by date). They cost less than two dollars but may be a bit complicated for unwrapping and eating during a race. Even on a long ride, you’d probably have to slow down to open them with two hands. Home-made ones can be wrapped in gladwrap and more easily opened.

So here's about the size of an onigiri

So here's about the size of an onigiri

As you can see, 145yen ($1.90) and 198kcal of ricey energy

As you can see, 145yen (A$1.90) and 198kcal of ricey energy

First pull the middle tab all the way down and around the back

First pull the middle tab all the way down and around the back

Then pull out the right-hand piece of plastic

Then pull out the right-hand piece of plastic

Then the left-hand one

Then the left-hand one

And now you can see why there is daily rubbish collection in Japan

And now you can see why there is daily rubbish collection in Japan

Yes, that’s my can of delicious Sapporo beer. I just learnt that wakame is seaweed and not moss after all. And it contains a compound that helps burn fatty tissue . The study doesn’t say whether that will give you an immediate fatty burning boost or not.

If I had known it was delicious salmon roe, I would have had it myself. I must remember the characters for that (筋子)

If I had known it was delicious salmon roe, I would have had it myself. I must remember the characters for that (筋子)

Look at the satisfaction!

Look at the satisfaction!

And while we’re talking about food, in the picture below, the supermarket sushi costs 680 yen (A$9) and the big one is 980 yen (A$13) yet a large Pizza Hut pizza starts at about 3000 yen ($40). It’s a tough choice.

yummy supermarket sushi

yummy supermarket sushi

5 Comment on “Onigiri

Leave a Reply

