It’s more than a little disconcerting looking at hamburger Bruce on the front page and I’m more than a little shocked that I got the most votes for angriest burger, so I thought I had best bump it down the list with a new short post. Just to underline my point about irasshai always needing exclamation marks, I came across this sign yesterday. The Japanese reads irasshaimase, which is slightly more formal and note the two exclamation marks:

Irasshaimase!!

Irasshaimase!!

Cam has already given us the F Scott Fitzgerald quote: “An exclamation point is like laughing at your own joke.” Terry Pratchett is attributed with: “Five exclamation marks, the sure sign of an insane mind.” So by these rules, the author of this sign is only mildly disturbed.

Note also the bicycle parked in front of the sign. I think the following photo demonstrates what anarchists the cyclists here are:

No parking here!

No parking here!

I ride my bike home from work at the konbeni, usually at about midnight or so. I really like riding at that time. It’s still warm out, and it’s pleasantly quiet. I worry that my tail-light and headlight aren’t that bright, though so I mainly stick to the footpath so I was made to feel quite a fuddy-duddy when I saw a guy on a mamachari whizz past, riding on the wrong side of the road, no lights, dark clothes and sending a text message on his mobile. I’m not certain it was a text message, though – he could have been playing tetris for all I know, the young anarchist.

But I suppose it is only by breaking down old customs that we can truly purse new levels.

I'll definitely purse this ice-cream again. It was quite tasty.

I'll definitely purse this ice-cream again. It was quite tasty.

blogorollo.wordpress.com

9 Comment on “Irasshaimase!!

Leave a Reply

