One advantage of cycling in winter is that I can sleep in a little and not have to worry about being caught out in the middle of a hot day. Today’s ride was, of course, the Cadel Evans Sunday Victory Ride in the Hills which is actually quite similar to a Sunday Hilly ride except it takes place the day after Cadel wins the Tour de France. Providing, that is, that he manages to stay upright for the 95km of today’s jaunt in to Paris.

It’s been a wonderful tour to watch this year made particularly exciting thanks to even abilities of the main contenders. Andy Schleck’s attack and solo victory was a joy to watch, as was Cadel’s hard work dragging everyone else up the mountains in both of the last two mountain stages. Spare a thought for Tommy Voeckler who refused to give up the yellow jersey but in the end was unable to hang on to a podium spot. David Millar tweeted the following story last night:

I’m sure he’ll cheer up again eventually.

But back to me. Today was a perfect winter’s day for cycling:cool and sunny. It’s compulsory for me to get lost as I make my way out to the hills but today I was determined not to check the map on my phone but to just go where the road took me. And where it took me was mostly to dead ends. Nonetheless I pushed on and eventually found a road up the hill. The roads were about as empty as you could hope for and I inspected a couple of Perth’s dams before heading home. I leave you with some photos that I have touched up in the hope that this will make them look more epic.

 

 

 

6 Comment on “Sunday in the hills

Leave a Reply

