I had a time trial down in Hopelands last Sunday. It’s about 60km away down the freeway bike path. It’s a pretty direct route but I still somehow managed to take a wrong turn and ride 70km before the start. Despite already feeling a bit tired before the start and not going too flat out, I still managed a personal best, which is pleasing. More pleasing was being able to beg a lift home off Mike Round after the ride. I think the 60-70km ride back home might have been a struggle otherwise. It’s the 40km TT championships this Sunday and my target is to do 40km faster than I ever have before. Hope springs eternal.

My ride out. Do you see where I went wrong there?

Here's how the TT rig looks.

I think this is one of the roads I got lost on. I thought I'd found a short-cut on another but it turned into a gravel road.

I finally made it to the start line.

And here's Robin, refusing to let me have a little head start.

 

6 Comment on “Abandon All Hopelands

Leave a Reply

