After a simple visit to an airport, I appear to have woken up in a strange land. What is my purpose here and will I ever be able to return home? I’m sure the answers will become apparent in time. But for now, we can say hello to Wuhan, capital of Hubei province and the hottest of China’s three furnaces. Situated at the T-junction of the sparkling Yangzi and Han Rivers, Wuhan comprises three towns separated by the two rivers and has a population of more than 10 million. It is growing impressively quickly with brand new high rise blocks of flats springing up everywhere and in such numbers that you could legitimately describe them as a forest in some areas. 

I’m staying at the campus of the Zhongnan University of Economics and Law, which is a little way out from the middles of towns but certainly not clear of the city outskirts. It’s a short bus trip to the last stop of one of the city’s three metro lines, and about three-quarters of an hour’s drunken walking home if you haven’t figured out the bus system yet.

P1030928

It’s ALL shopping centre.

That’s the little shop nearest to my place and as you can see, they are fully committed to being a shopping centre. Just as the meal below is fully committed to including 100 per cent of the chicken. I’ll examine food in a later blog post but suffice to say I have been picking a lot of chicken and fish bones out of my mouth.

P1030929

It’s ALL of the chicken.

wpid-img_20140911_183408_1.jpg

Here’s my buddy Zhangbin sharing dinner with me on my first night in town. Three per cent beer just means you can drink more.

The chicken was, in fact the first dinner I had here and I shared it with my new buddy Zhangbin, who has been looking after me and showing me about the place.

View from the back of Zhangbin's scooter. As you can see they are not shy of salmoning.

View from the back of Zhangbin’s scooter. As you can see they are not shy of salmoning.

Here's a spot of fishing on a lovely day. It's just a bit of smog, don't worry about it.

Here’s a spot of fishing on a lovely day. It’s just a bit of smog, don’t worry about it.

And here's a man in a uniform making the most of a mainly empty footpath because who would be mad enough to walk all the way over there? Note the views of the lake behind him.

And here’s a man in a uniform making the most of a mainly empty footpath because who would be mad enough to walk all the way over there? Note the views of the lake behind him.

Righto – that’ll do you for now. Must go and do something. More later. Cheerio!

6 Comment on “Rollo on China

Leave a Reply

